The On Deck Circle

Baseball History, Commentary and Analysis

Banana Bread and George Theodore’s Sweet Tooth

My grandmother, of Slovak origin, made certain foods I could barely pronounce, let alone digest.  Among these old-world favorites (at least in eastern Slovakia, near the Ukrainian border), were bobalki, halushki and sirecz (pronounced “cidets.”)  I dare you to try to find any of these items on your friendly neighborhood menu.  Go ahead.  I’ll wait.

Even other Slovak-Americans (whom I rarely came into contact with, but they do exist), sometimes hadn’t heard of these foods.  In fact, I’m left wondering if these particular victuals weren’t native to simply one small neighborhood in a hidden quarter of a half-forgotten farm village left over from the Hapsburg Empire.  Kind of like the Mets fan rumored to live on the northern side of Staten Island, just beyond the ferry terminal.  He’d likely also have been a fan of Mets outfielder George Theodore.

George “The Stork” Theodore was a Utah native best remembered perhaps for colliding with Mets center-fielder Don Hahn during their improbable pennant winning season of 1973.  Theodore’s best season came in 1971 when he batted .333 with 28 homer runs and 113 RBI in 507 plate appearances.  He also scored 112 runs, and stole 15 bases in 17 attempts. Unfortunately for the Mets, that performance came in the Single-A California League in Visalia when George was already 24-years old, which is sort of like an 18-year old dating a 9th-grader.

George liked marshmallow milkshakes, or so the back of his 1974 Topps baseball card informs us.  I, on the other hand, loved my grandma’s banana bread.  In fact, from Bridgeport, Connecticut to Portland, Maine and then down to Greenville, South Carolina, I’ve never had banana bread quite the equal of her moist, sweet yellow cake.

She passed away over a decade ago, leaving the world with more apps than they can download while waiting for their tires to be balanced at your local Tire Kingdom, but all the poorer regarding the existence of a nice, satisfying little snack bread. Which, as far as I’m concerned, pretty much sums up the 21st-century.

I’m sure that if George Theodore had visited our house on Bridgeport’s west side in the mid-’70’s, he, too, would surely have enjoyed her banana bread.  In fact, it is even possible that the back of his card would have read “George loves Mets Fan Bill Miller’s Grandma’s Banana Bread.”

It would have been quite the coup for Topps, and Mets fans everywhere would want to know where exactly Colorado Avenue in Bridgeport really was.  A perhaps mythic location akin to the Elysian Fields in New Jersey, or the Schaefer beer brewery  on Kent Avenue in the Williamsburg section of Brooklyn (which closed down in 1976, a pretty respectable year for the Mets.)

As far as I could tell, Slovaks generally didn’t go in for baseball.  In fact, as a species, Slovaks seem primarily to have thrived on the concept of not being noticed at all, which is what happens when you’ve spent around 500 years having been conquered and pillaged by one invader or another.  My ancestors did try to warn Jonathon Harker, however, away from Dracula’s castle, but who ever listens to a Slovak?  (“The Slav natives Harker meets along the way to the castle likewise incur his disdain.”  Dracula, page 33.  Ouch.)

Ya Gotta Believe! became a popular battle cry in Mets Land in ’73 precisely because Tug McGraw wasn’t mostly Slovak.  Not even a little bit, in fact.  And I’m fairly certain he’d never had bobalki at Easter or Christmas, but that was his loss.  Still, having the American League affiliate of the Hapsburg Empire nearby in the Bronx, led by the despotic Teutonic House of Steinbrenner, we Slovak-American Mets fans knew a thing or two about playing second fiddle to the Yankees while biding our time.  The uprising at Shea Stadium in ’73 wasn’t unlike the Glorious Revolution that swept Europe in 1848, but with slightly less bloodshed, at least if you weren’t seated in the bleachers.

For me, George Theodore represented that unlikely euphoric atmosphere which engulfed much of the Tri-State area that summer.  Yes, Tom Terrific was the valiant warrior, and Bud Harrelson slugging Pete Rose after a hard slide into second base was the iconic moment, but George Theodore was the any-man who’d known mostly nothing but mediocrity or worse suddenly finding himself in a goddamned ticker-tape parade in the canyons of New York City, eating his banana bread and marshmallow milkshakes with a big ear-to-ear grin on his face as he sat in the back seat of a Lincoln Continental filled with confetti.  Or so I’d like to believe.

George is 68-years old now, around the same age that my grandma was when my parents, my brother and I left her and my grandpa behind and moved out to the suburbs.  I think Dante mentioned some sort of appropriate punishment for people like us who did that sort of thing in his “Purgatorio.”

With that move, all remaining Old World smells, tastes and fears were left behind for the stilleto-capitalism of the Reagan ’80’s, by which point Spielberg had almost single-handedly buried the blue-collar ethnic working class under the scrap-heap of American cultural history with his schmaltzy, two-dimensional paeans to paleo-Eisenhower suburbia replete with market-tested hairstyles and product placement marketing.  Even the ’86 Mets, I now have to admit, were a bit more like New Coke than The Real Thing of ’73.

Tomorrow is Easter Sunday, and my wife and kids and I will drive on out to my parents’ house and enjoy a nice, unnecessarily gargantuan Sunday meal.  It will taste delicious, and we’ll all have a great time.  I may not remember to take a few moments tomorrow to remember the old ethnic foods my grandma made forty years ago, the foods that are probably built into my DNA, but a 1974 Topps George Theodore baseball card does sit in the glove compartment of our Toyota.

Once, my older son found it in there, and asked me why I keep such an old card just lying around with the gas station receipts and the loose change.  I told him because it helps me remember things I don’t dare forget.

 

 

 

Single Post Navigation

16 thoughts on “Banana Bread and George Theodore’s Sweet Tooth

  1. On the homogenization front, I wonder if the ’80s weren’t a major turning point away from white ethnic identities: due in part to cable TV, CDs, video games, home movie rentals, etc., people consumed much more entertainment for the masses. This took the place of things like drinking with your buddies at the local bar and events at the local ethnic church. The decline of the Rust Belt also didn’t help.

    • I’m sure that was all part and parcel of the process. Also, the dominant cultural figures began to trend towards the elites, the rich and famous, and those who most successfully pandered to the newly budding industry of Boomer nostalgia, which tended to write out the urban, the gritty and the industrial in favor of the suburban, the glamorous and the professional. “The Warriors” becomes “The Breakfast Club,” “The Exorcist” becomes “Poltergeist,” and “Dog Day Afternoon” becomes “Ferris Bueller’s Day Off.” If you go back and watch the movie, “Slapshot,” with Paul Newman, aside from the hockey, the movie is really about what is happening in a small mill town when it is announced that a local factory is closing, putting thousands of guys out of work. The economic struggles of the hockey team stem largely from that event, and determine the team’s future. By 1985, though those issues were continuing to happen up and down the rust belt, they were largely ignored by the media (movies, T.V. shows, etc.) in favor of shows that were merely updated versions of “Leave it to Beaver.” I guess that’s why so many of our modern politicians, especially some of those now running for President, use the ’80’s as a kind of cultural platform from which to capture the mythology of what now appears to be a simpler time, much like those running for office in the ’80’s often successfully recalled the ’50’s and early ’60’s as the nostalgic period they apparently sought to recapture.

  2. I may not be big on banana bread, but The Stork…that’s a different story. Some of those little blurbs on the back of the Topps cards of the 60s and 70s bordered on the dadaesque at times. This is just wonderful stuff.

    • Hi WK, I always wondered who came up with those items on the back of the cards, and how they got the job in the first place. I’d love to talk to the guy.
      As always, thanks very much
      -Bill

  3. Jason M. on said:

    Actually, in Tug McGraw’s final book, he notes that he was actually not of Irish ancestry, as he had believed, but was more likely Polish/Eastern European (not that I’ve read the book in 10 years, but that’s one of the passages I do remember). Maybe there was some Slovak in him after all?

  4. Thanks for the memories, Bill. This time of year my grandmother baked hot-crossed buns. I haven’t thought about that for years, but right now I can taste the icing and the currants with the fluffy batter. Today will be a good day. Ω

  5. My grandmother made banana bread (hers used pecan over walnuts) in the winter so I associate it with football, but fried chicken on Saturday of opening week was something I’ll always remember.
    Great piece. Happy opening day, Bill.
    v

    • Hi V, Pecans over walnuts, I think I could go for that. The only thing I associate with football is going back to school in the fall, so not quite as happy memories there for me. Definitely looking forward to Opening Day.
      Happy Easter,
      Bill

  6. This is an amazing day all of a sudden. What a great and entertaining and informative post; the banana bread and Slovak history I knew next to nothing about and tying it all into an obscure Mets player or at least obscure to me, but were there walnuts in the bread? That A ball triumph being compared to an 18-year old dating a 9th grader had me spitting coffee through my nose. Have a great Easter Bill.

    • Good morning, Steve, and thanks very much. Oh yes, there were walnuts aplenty. I’m not even a big walnut fan, but it worked in that banana bread. Have a great Easter to you, too.
      Thanks again,
      Bill

  7. I really enjoyed this one Bill. Great, great writing.

  8. A wonderful article. I must admit I am not especially keen on banana bread, although if I had a Topps card that mentioned the bread I could develop a fondness. Too bad you can’t get your grandma’s specialties anymore. When I was a kid and was sick my grandfather would make me a guggle muggle, which I later discovered was not an American Classic. Later I learned it wasn’t known to all Jews. It must have been a local thing, and by now I (and my sister) may be the only ones who remember them. Hey, baseball is right around the corner!

    • Thanks very much. I think more than a few families have unique little food items known only to themselves and a few others. So what’s in a guggle muggle? We get hot toddies when we’re sick. And yes, on to baseball!
      Take care,
      Bill

Leave a Reply

