The On Deck Circle

Baseball History, Commentary and Analysis

Merry Christmas, and a Hiatus

Hi all, this is just a short note to say that I’ll be on vacation (from writing, not from my kids) over the next three weeks.

 

Happy Christmas, painted by Johansen Viggo

Happy Christmas, painted by Johansen Viggo (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

I’ll probably jump back in the saddle around the time that the BBWAA results for the 2014 HOF inductions are revealed in early January.

 

I hope you all have a Happy Christmas, or whatever it is you celebrate, and a safe New Year’s for you and yours.

Please consider this my Christmas card from me to you.

 

Thanks again to all of you who have been reading my blog, which started four years ago last month.  I really appreciate each and all of you, and I’m so glad so many of you have decided to make reading my blog part of your lives.

 

Take care, everyone,

 

Bill

 

Single Post Navigation

16 thoughts on “Merry Christmas, and a Hiatus

  1. Merry Christmas, Bill!

  2. glenrussellslater on said:

    Yes, I agree with W.K. Have a merry Christmas, and you are a darn good writer. You pay a lot of attention to detail, and I’ve never read a post of yours that wasn’t well-written, and I mean that.

    Jeez, I sound like Bobby Bittman (Eugene Levy on SCTV, often a guest on the “Sammy Maudlin Show”.

    No, but really, I AM being sincere!

    Sincerely,
    Glen

    • Glen, Thanks so much for the kind words. Much appreciated, and I have to say, you have great taste in T.V. shows. I used to love the old SCTV shows from the early ’80’s. The Sammy Maudlin show was great stuff.
      Have a Happy Holiday,
      Bill

  3. Bill,

    A very Merry Christmas to you and your family!! Be well and stay safe. Have a wonderful holiday season.

    See you in January,
    Mike

  4. Hey Bill, this is my first year on board The On Deck Circle. It’s been entertaining, informative, and inspiring. During your hiatus, I can read through articles from previous years.

    That nice painting you posted has 9 people in the picture; 8 holding hands around the tree and one grandma looking lady to the left of it. Or maybe that’s a painting within the painting, of a grandma from long ago Christmas watching over the tradition today. In any case, it all adds up to nine and that’s a great number because the DH is well,….? All the best Bill and looking forward to 2014 to continue the discussion.

    • Steve, I really appreciate that you’ve jumped on board this year, and have found my blog to be a worthwhile read. I’ll be sure to continue to read yours while on my “vacation.” Hadn’t even noticed that there are nine people in the Christmas card I sent along. Grandma as a DH…well, the age might be appropriate.
      Thanks again for all the comments,
      Bill

  5. Have a great Holiday Season with your family, Bill.

    Allan

  6. Happy Holiday, Bill. Have a turkey leg on me. Will be waiting anxiously for your return.
    v

  7. Have a merry one, Bill!

  8. And a Merry Christmas back to a guy who writes about baseball–hell, writes period–as well as anybody. Thanks for everything this year, Bill.

    • Thanks so much, W.K. I’ll be sure to continue to read your always entertaining writing as well while I’m on hiatus.
      Also, thanks for all the thought-provoking comments. I’ve enjoyed them.
      -Bill

Leave a Reply

