The On Deck Circle

Baseball History, Commentary and Analysis

Very nice, level-headed analysis of the Yankees season. Even if you’re not a Yankees fan, it’s worth a read.

On Sports and Life

So it’s another early winter in the Bronx. With the Yankees’ season coming to a screeching and emphatic halt Thursday evening in Detroit, both fans and the New York media instantly turned to assigning blame for the Yankees postseason offensive meltdown and speculating on the team’s off-season moves.

I’ve been a Yankees fan all my life. That’s a product of growing up with a love of the Great Game in the suburbs of Washington, D.C., where of course my team was the Senators. But the Senators of old Griffith Stadium departed for Minnesota when I was still a young boy, and the Senators of RFK Stadium left for Texas my senior year in high school. When I wasn’t suffering from abandonment issues, the local team was almost always awful. So while I remained loyal to the Washington franchises of my youth (and in a classic display of a true fan’s illogic…

View original post 1,131 more words

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

