The On Deck Circle

Baseball History, Commentary and Analysis

Baseball Blogs Shout-Out

This blog-post is long overdue.

For months now, I’ve had the pleasure of reading several baseball blogs that I believe other baseball fans, who haven’t yet noticed them, would also enjoy very much.

I have several baseball sites listed on my blog-roll, and all of them are worth taking a look at, but I have found that there are three blogs (actually two blogs and a baseball web-site) in particular that I keep coming back to.  Each of these three offers something valuable, and each of them demonstrates that a quality blog is one into which the creator puts forth a lot of time and energy.

The three baseball blogs /web-sites I have chosen to tell you about today are:

1)  Verdun2’s Blog

2)  Baseballisms

3)  The Baseball Short Stop

Now let me tell you a little about each of them.

Verdun2’s Blog (http://verdun2.wordpress.com) is one of the most well-written baseball blogs out there.  The author is obviously a student of history, and he especially enjoys blogging about baseball when it was still evolving into the game that we know today.  He often writes about baseball as it was at the turn of the last century, and he has also written effectively about the Negro Leagues.

His writing style is spare and to the point.  As opposed to many baseball bloggers I have seen, this gentleman knows how to express himself effectively with whit, irony and understatement, and he seldom wastes a word.  He is well-informed, passionate, and intelligent.  Also, I learn something new every time I read his blog.  I have yet to be disappointed by one of his blog-posts.

If you love baseball and history, as I do, you don’t want to miss this blog.

Baseballisms (baseballisms.com):  I have linked this web-site to my Facebook page so that I don’t miss the daily featured Cards From the Diamond.  Every day, a baseball card from approximately the late ’60’s to the early ’80’s is featured.  Most cards are from the 1970’s, back when I was a boy spending nearly all of my dimes and quarters on packs of baseball cards.  The featured cards are extremely random, and they will bring a smile to your face as you remember their names and pictures.  The reader is also welcome to comment on each card as they appear, so the site is more interactive than most.

This baseball site also features entertaining podcast interviews with people who have been in and around baseball in some capacity for many years.  The site has a nice look and feel to it, doesn’t take itself too seriously, and consistently demonstrates high quality.  Don’t miss it.

The Baseball Short Stop (http://bbshortstop.wordpress.com)  is an unpretentious baseball blog that stays within itself to present news and views in an accessible, uncluttered way.  The author clearly takes the time to think before he writes (a rare exception in the stream-of-consciousness blogging world), and he usually has a point of view worth expressing, and reading.

This baseball blog is geared towards people who care enough about baseball to reach beyond the usual, overly simplistic “The Yankees Suck / The Yankees Rule!!” dichotomy.  The author, however, is not a cold-blooded stat-head.  His is the point of view of a fan who happens to like to think about and comment upon baseball issues and topics.  And really, what more do you really want out of a baseball blog?  Check it out.

My positive comments regarding these three sites is in no way intended to slight other baseball blogs that I didn’t happen to mention today.  In time, as I become better acquainted on a more consistent basis with other baseball blogs, I’ll post another Shout-Out for you to consider.

Meanwhile, thanks to all of you readers who have taken the time to follow my blog since its inception just over three months ago.  The On Deck Circle has now surpassed 700 hits.  If you enjoy my blog, please tell a friend.  I hope you continue to find my posts worth reading.

Cheers, Bill

Single Post Navigation

9 thoughts on “Baseball Blogs Shout-Out

  1. Thanks for the post. Good website – it’s hard to find good blogs that are about baseball in general and not related to a specific team. I’m finding my readers are from all over the country/world and that’s probably the reason. Anyhow, good job!

  2. Thanks for the baseball sites i am a huge fan and have been looking for new sites to check out.

  3. Thanks for the baseball blog tips. Always good to find people who enjoy this great game.

    Here’s a link to a nostalgic, sandlot baseball blog I just started a few weeks ago on Word Press:
    http://rhkjr51.wordpress.com/2010/03/14/sandlot-baseball-the-wall-in-left-field/

    Anyone who played ball as a kid in the sandlots can probably relate.
    Thanks. Enjoy your posts.
    Rich

    • Hi Rich, Thanks for checking out my baseball blog. I’ll be sure to check yours out ASAP. I, too, played sandlot, or street baseball as a kid in the ’70’s. Never got to play on an actual Little League field. Anyway, keep in touch, and welcome to the world of wordpress blogging, Bill

      • Bill,
        Am trying to figure out how to add your site to my blog roll. Since you are on wordpress, do you know the steps I need to take? Am new at this…
        Thanks – Rich

  4. Thanks for the shout out. Appreciate it. Now if I can just convince my wife of that “passionate and intelligent” part.
    v

Leave a Reply

